Project #1: Static Multimedia Instruction

Attached at the bottom of this page, you will find a short and easily understandable Online Security Tutorial that I created using my Facebook page and personal experiences with it. After the learner views my tutorial, he or she will be able to review and update their Privacy & Security settings on Facebook to protect their personal information. This will also provide the learner an idea of what he or she may want to update on other social networks, such as Twitter, Snapchat, Pinterest, etc.

For this project, I used a tool called, Clarify. This allows you to take a quick “picture” of what you are viewing on your device and creates a “slide”, similar to Powerpoint, that you can title and add text. It then can be exported as an Adobe pdf and attached to a lesson or blog, such as I have done here.

To create this tutorial, I opened my own Facebook page and took a few different pictures of privacy and security related data and I also highlighted two different links within Facebook that can be used to view and update Privacy & Security settings. These slides were then placed in logical order after I was finished taking pictures. Additionally, I entered comments about the importance of Privacy & Security on social networking, along with a few helpful hints of my own on each slide. Last, I added red arrows and boxes to highlight specific text on each slide to help point the learner in the right direction. Then, I saved my tutorial and conducted a quick spell check. Last, under “File”, I selected “export” and “pdf” to save this on my desktop as an Adobe pdf document that I added below.

The properties of Multimedia and Contiguity are aligned in this tutorial.  The learning objective and overall subject of the tutorial is addressed on the first page.  The subject of each slide is addressed in the text below it, which is not overly explained. Next, the pictures on each slide match the subject of each slide and enhance the overall point of the slide. The overall tutorial is brief, easy to read and makes sense. Last, this tutorial was created using Clarify, which is a great multimedia tool that can be used to create step-by-step instructions for various subject areas. I believe that you will have a better understanding of why it’s important to protect your personal information and how to do so after viewing the Online Security Tutorial.

Online Security Tutorial

 

2 thoughts on “Project #1: Static Multimedia Instruction

  1. I am so glad you did this! A lot of people don’t know about Facebook’s security settings and how much they are actually sharing, but trying to wade through it can be a nightmare. Your tutorial is easy to follow and goes through each step very well. My only suggestion would be to have bigger screenshots for pages 2, 3, and 9 so users get a better sense of where everything is on the screen. Nice job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

